Posted in Love, Relationship, Uber

Uber-Ex

Last Friday, March 17, we went to SM Megamall to get some groceries and have Jaden’s hair cut. 

At around 2:30PM, Jhon said he had to go to his office in Greenhills, so I just booked an UberX going home with Jaden. It only took less than a minute for an Uber driver to accept my booking. I was surprised by the name of the driver because he has the same name as my ex’s, but when I looked at the picture, I was shocked. Yes, it was indeed my ex-boyfriend. It was too late to cancel the booking because he was parked just in front of me when I booked. He got my grocery bags and put them in the trunk while I got in the backseat of the car with Jaden. 

I never thought we’d see each other again. What’s more shocking is that we met again after exactly six years. The last time we talked was on March 17, 2011. That was when he left me hanging without any explanation. I was left with pain, heartbreak, and unanswered questions. It really shocked me to see him again on March, 17, 2017, six years after he left me hanging.

It was the most awkward moment of my life. There was only silence since Jaden was asleep. After almost 10 minutes, he looked at me through the rearview mirror and said “hi, it’s a small world, isn’t it?” I only nodded and gave an awkward smile. Then, to my surprise, he apologized. He said he realized that what he did to me was wrong, and that he got his karma. He asked for my forgiveness, saying he regrets ever doing what he did to me. He didn’t give me any explantion as to why he suddenly left me, but he was sincere in his apology. That was enough for me. I honestly never thought I’d hear any apology from him, so I felt happy that he did because I deserved that. 

I was speechless. I didn’t know what to say. I just looked at him and realized how lucky I am that I didn’t end up with him. All the questions have been finally answered. You know you’ve moved on from your ex when the things he does that looked cute to you before, looks disgusting now. 😂 I wasn’t blinded by love anymore. I can look at him straight in the eye without feeling anything. No love, no pain, no what-if’s. I can talk to him and be logical. I can be around him and see the things that turn me off. 

I don’t know why fate allowed us to meet again after exactly 6 years, but what I do know now is that sometimes, you need to bump into your ex again to realize you really don’t miss him anymore, even for a tiny bit. 

Author:

Manila, Philippines. August 21, 1993. Mom of a handsome baby boy. Foodie. Makeup junkie. Introvert. FB: facebook.com/jappylicious Instagram: @jappylicious Snapchat: @jappylicious Twitter: @jappyliciouss Tumblr: jappymiranda.tumblr.com YouTube: youtube.com/jappymiranda

Leave a Reply

