Posted in family, Hospital, Love, Motherhood, Parenting

My 1st Birthing Story: St. Clare’s Medical Center-Makati

I gave birth to my first baby on March 31, 2015 in St. Clare’s Medical Center-Makati. Right now I’m 26 weeks pregnant and I just thought about my first birthing experience. Let me share the details with you to the best of what I can remember 😁

I was supposed to have my prenatal check-up on March 31, 2015 at 2pm. Jhon and I were about to eat lunch at 11:30am when my water bag broke. He immediately took the baby bag and brought me to St. Clare’s Medical Center in Dian St., Palanan, Makati City. While on the way, he called my OB-Gyne, Dra. Kim Dela Rosa-Mantolino, to tell her that my water bag broke. 

We’ve reached the hospital at 12noon and I was assisted in the ER. The nurses interviewed me and made me sign some papers that I don’t remember what for. They also inserted the IV line and made me wear the hospital gown. They told Jhon to pay the deposit of Php15,000 at the Billing Area, then they brought me to the labor room at 12:30pm.

At the labor room, there was a different OB-Gyne who conducted an IE on me because Dra. Kim was still in Borough Medical Clinic-MOA. She told me I was at 2cm. There was another machine that the nurses used to monitor my baby’s heartbeat, and they also put oxygen in my nose. I started to cry because of the intense pain. When my OB-Gyne arrived, I told her that I can’t tolerate the pain anymore. She told me that she can order to give me epidural anesthesia when I reach 4cm. She ordered the nurse to give me Buscopan through IV. She talked to Jhon about giving me an epidural because my pain tolerance is low to none. Jhon enetered the labor room to check on me for 5 minutes. The pain was no joke. I thought I was gonna die. My tummy contracts every 2 minutes and it was reaaally freaking painful. The nurses and anesthesiologist were trying to calm me down and stop me from crying. 

In the labor room! πŸ˜†
At 2:30PM, I reached 4cm. The anesthesiologist started to give me epidural with the help of 4 nurses. It was so painful because the needle was big, but when the epidural was given to me, I felt numb after 10 minutes. I fell asleep at 3pm. 

At 7:30PM, Dra. Kim woke me up and told me I was already at 8cm and she taught me the right way of pushing my baby down. She told me to give my full force without opening my mouth and making any sound, and hold my breath for 10 seconds until she tells me to let go. 

After a few minutes, the nurses transferred me to the delivery room. There were 6 nurses, an anesthesiologist and a pediatrician inside the delivery room. I wasn’t feeling any pain because of the epidural. I was awake the whole time. After 4 pushes, I finally gave birth via NSD. Baby out 7:46PM, placenta out 7:49PM! 😍😁 It was a bouncing handsome baby boy!😍❀️


The nurses and the pedia cleaned my son while my OB-Gyne stitched me. I could feel the needle and thread but there was no pain at all. 


They brought Jaden to me to breastfeed for the first time and we took pictures! 😊





After that, they brought Jaden outside to show him to Jhon and bring him to the Nursery.




I was brought to the Recovery Room and stayed there for an hour, then the nurses brought me to my room where Jhon waited.


Jaden was roomed-in after 24 hours. 





We stayed in the hospital for 2 days. Our total bill was Php54,000. I wasn’t able to use my Philhealth for the discount because I wasn’t able to have the CF1 Form signed by our company HR. 

We went home on April 2, 2015 at 11am. We were given the documents and other stuff for remembrance, which I found really nice. ☺️




My overall experience with St. Clare’s Medical Center was fine. The nurses were all nice and prompt to attend to my needs, the facilities were okay, the room was clean, and the food they served weren’t bad at all. I’m planning to give birth here again to my second baby, although I’m also considering giving birth at Unihealth ParaΓ±aque Hospital because my OB-Gyne is also affiliated there and she told me it’s a new hospital. I think they’ve only been established 2 years ago. The maternity package there is also cheaper compared to St. Clare’s because my sister-in-law gave birth there yesterday via CS and her total bill was only Php58,000. Their NSD rate would probably be just around 35k-45k.

Author:

Manila, Philippines. August 21, 1993. Mom of a handsome baby boy. Foodie. Makeup junkie. Introvert. FB: facebook.com/jappylicious Instagram: @jappylicious Snapchat: @jappylicious Twitter: @jappyliciouss Tumblr: jappymiranda.tumblr.com YouTube: youtube.com/jappymiranda

Leave a Reply

