Posted in family, Hospital, Love, Motherhood, Parenting

My 2nd Birthing Story: Unihealth ParaƱaque Hospital and Medical Center

I was only 34 weeks and 4 days pregnant when I gave birth to my second baby. Premature by almost 3 weeks. 

I’ve been so sensitive throughout my pregnancy journey. I’d been taking Isoxilan every 6 hours because I’ve always had episodes of spotting and contractions. I was even adviced by my OB-Gyn to stay on complete bedrest. 

On July 12, 2017, at around 12nn, my stomach started to hurt after I had my lunch. I ignored it because I thought I only ate too much rice. At 4pm I ate ice cream, then my stomach started to hurt again. It was so painful I started to cry. Jhon packed our stuff and decided to take me to the hospital. He texted my OB-Gyn, Dra. Kim D. Mantolino, and she advised us to go to Unihealth- ParaƱaque Hospital and Medical Center. 

We arrived at the ER at 6pm and they brought me to the labor room right away. They took my urine sample then they put a device on my stomach to monitor my baby’s heartbeat and contractions. The heartbeat was okay, but I was having contractions every 3-4 minutes. The OB conducted an IE and said I was at 2cm. They adviced me that I will be admitted for further monitoring because I was already on labor. 

Jhon got us a room and he paid a downpayment of Php5000.

The nurse inserted the IV with Isoxilan then they gave me 2 injections of steroids for my baby’s lungs to mature. They also gave me 2 injections of medicine that will sedate me so the contractions will weaken. After an hour, they said that I have UTI so they also had to give me antibiotics through IV, but they did a skin test first to make sure I wasn’t allergic to the antibiotic they’ll give.   At 2am, the OB conducted another IE. I was already at 4cm.

I stayed in the labor room for 14 hours because I was still having contractions every 3-4 minutes eventhough I was already sedated and given Isoxilan. Jhon and Jaden stayed in our room. 

At 8am the next day, the nurses brought me to my room because the contractions started to weaken and I stayed at 4cm. 




I was closely monitored by the nurses every hour. I was having bloody discharge and there was also blood everytime I pee. At 4pm, my OB-Gyn checked on me and she adviced me that I need to stay on complete bedrest to prevent the contractions from happening. 

At 5:30PM, my water broke. I was lying down then I felt that my bed was so wet. I immediately informed my OB-Gyn and the nurses brought me back to the labor room. There was no way we could stop my baby from coming out. I really had to give birth that same day. My doctor ordered the nurses to remove Isoxilan from my IV and they replaced it with Oxytocin for contractions. They also gave me 3 vials of Buscopan. When my OB-Gyn conducted an IE, I was already at 5cm. The contractions were really painful. I didn’t know what to do to stop the pain. I asked for epidural but my doctor said it was too early to give me epidural because the contractions might stop. After more than an hour of pain, I started to cry. My doctor called the anesthesiologist at 8pm because I was at 6cm. They brought me to the delivery room and that’s where the epidural was administered. I felt relieved after 10 minutes. The pain started to go away and I was able to smile again. I took a rest for an hour then the pain started to go back. At 10pm, I was at 9cm. The nurses started to position my feet on the right place because I was about to give birth. The anesthesiologist gave me another shot of anesthesia while my OB-Gyn was instructing me to push. 

On July 13, 2017, I gave birth via Normal Spontaneous Delivery at exactly 10:37PM. 






The nurses brought me to the recovery room and  my baby was brought to the nursery for further checking since I gave birth prematurely. I stayed in the recovery room for 2 hours. Then a nurse brought my baby to the recovery room so she can breastfeed. The pedia was also there and she told me that my baby will be brought to my room at 2am.

I was brought back to my room at 1am and I waited for an hour for my baby to be roomed-in, then the NICU nurse said she’ll bring my baby to my room at 4am because they were still monitoring her. At 4am, the nurses asked Jhon to go to the NICU. That’s when they said that my baby’s respiratory rate started to rise. The normal rate for a newborn is 40-60, but my baby’s respiratory rate was at 70-80. She needed oxygen as support. They also inserted an IV on her because she had an infection and they need to give her antibiotics. She also needed to have chest x-ray and blood culture to determine if the infection is in her lungs or blood. The pedia needed to rule out sepsis. 

I was so worried when Jhon explained it to me. I wanted to go to the NICU but the nurse told me to sleep first and visit my baby when I wake up. So I went to sleep and I woke up at 10am. I ate my breakfast and went to the NICU to check on my baby.





She is the most beautiful baby girl I have ever seen. It broke my heart to see her like that. It hurt me even more when the pedia told me that she needs to stay in the NICU for 7 days for further monitoring. I was allowed to stay there for an hour. I tried to latch but she didn’t want to. She only wanted to sleep the whole time. 

I went back to my room after an hour. I had my lunch and took a rest because my pain medications were making me dizzy. My OB-Gyn went to my room at 3pm and gave me discharge instructions. She said I can go home before lunch the next day. 

On July 15th, before 12nn, Jhon settled the bill so we could go home. We stayed in the hospital for 3 days, and our total bill was Php50,291.31. I was able to use my Philhealth so we got a deduction of Php5,000. Our bill went down to Php45,291.31



We went to the NICU again to visit our baby Julianna. The pedia said she still can’t breathe without oxygen, but at least she was negative of sepsis. They got my phone number and asked me to sign an acknowledgment letter that baby Julianna will be staying in the NICU for further monitoring. 




So far, her running bill is at Php28,000. They told us to prepare at least Php40,000 for the whole 7 days. 

We then went to the Medical Records Department for Julianna’s birth certificate encoding. I signed the papers and we were adviced that since Jhon and I are not married, we’ll need to go to the city hall to register Julianna’s birth certificate because we still need to submit our cedula and a notarized letter. We’ll get the signed certificate on July 21, 2017. I didn’t like their policy because when I gave birth to Jaden at St. Clare’s Hospital and Medical Center, we didn’t have to process the registration of his birth certificate eventhough Jhon and I are not married. The hospital staff processed it and there was no hassle for us. 

I’ll be visiting baby Julianna everyday at the NICU. Their visiting hours are 12nn-1pm and 5pm-6pm. 

Author:

Manila, Philippines. August 21, 1993. Mom of a handsome baby boy. Foodie. Makeup junkie. Introvert. FB: facebook.com/jappylicious Instagram: @jappylicious Snapchat: @jappylicious Twitter: @jappyliciouss Tumblr: jappymiranda.tumblr.com YouTube: youtube.com/jappymiranda

Leave a Reply

